Finding God in the Abstract with Unabridged Certainty

Today I received news of something that Prince and I have been praying for the past few weeks. We were praying for one outcome but the result was not what we have been praying for. It slipped my mind to update Prince with the news until he included it in his bed time prayers.

Oh, I got the answer on that today, Prince. It didn’t turn out as we have been praying for it to.

Prince’s face fell and he seemed to contemplate the information. I piped up and let him know that I feel God leading us in another direction and we have to trust Him. I concluded that a lack of a desire being fulfilled does not mean God isn’t answering the prayer.

Prince nodded and went back to contemplating.  Eventually, “Yes, mommy, I know,” escaped him in a sad but resolute tone.

As I closed the door and busied myself with walking the dog, I recalled a memory of Prince’s previous Assistant Principal attempting to explain to me why he was struggling with math concepts.

“Abstract concepts are something that children with Aspergers struggle to grasp.”

I’ve been told this over and over in school meetings about Prince. You see, math is a subject he enjoys but one of the most difficult for him. The explanation I’m always given is that this is due to abstract concepts in math as the grade levels rise. I bought it because I have seen it to be so.

As I continued walking, it occurred to me that God is an abstract concept. Yes, we love Him, we believe He is with us, He created us and much more. But we never see Him, physically, in a body. We can’t walk up to Him and hug Him or laugh with Him. And yet, Prince believes in God and prays to God, trusting him to answer his prayers. So much so that he ponders when God doesn’t seem to answer the prayer.  Wondering “why, God? We asked you like you tell us to” and then letting it go to trust that God knows what is best for us even when we can’t see it or it doesn’t appear how we desire.

This makes me rethink the explanation I’ve been provided all of these years that children with Aspergers have a hard time grasping abstract concepts. Is that true? Is God an exception? Why isn’t there a die hard fight to force Matthew 7:7* into being by Prince? After all, everything else is black and white, right and wrong.

Perhaps, God innately built him to know Him. Perhaps, God’s love is so all encompassing that it doesn’t matter to Prince if some of it baffles him. There is a trust in God, that Prince has like no other and I didn’t put it there. I couldn’t put it there if I tried. And it causes me to reflect on God calling his sons and daughters, no matter how imperfect and in what ways, to know Him with their whole being.

As we are advised in Proverbs 3:5, “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding” (NIV). I cannot and do not know how, nor do I desire to figure it out. I simply enjoy the amazement and wonder of continuously seeing statements challenged through God’s love in our lives.

How does your child relate to and understand God? I’d love to hear from you.

 

*Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7 (NIV)

 

Save

Leave a Reply

